You are here

BCRF Grantee Since


Area(s) of Focus

William G. Kaelin, Jr., MD

Professor of Medicine
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and
Brigham and Women’s Hospital,
Harvard Medical School
Boston, Massachusetts

Current Research

Enzymes are proteins that accelerate chemical reactions in cells and are popular targets for drug development. Dr. Kaelin’s laboratory studies a large family of enzymes called dioxygenases that utilize a specific chemical called 2-oxoglutarate (2-OG). In his ongoing BCRF studies, he has made several discoveries connecting the activities of a dioxygenase called EglN2 to tumor cell growth, drug resistance and metastasis (spreading of the tumor to other sites). His team is now searching for other 2-OG-dependent enzymes that regulate breast cancer proliferation as well as further exploring the functions of EglN2 to identify potential therapeutic targets to block its effects. Studies are in progress to test multiple targets that may be particularly important in triple negative breast cancer.


William G. Kaelin, Jr., MD obtained his undergraduate and MD degrees from Duke University and completed training in internal medicine at the Johns Hopkins Hospital, where he served as chief medical resident. He was a clinical fellow in medical oncology at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and later a postdoctoral fellow David Livingston’s laboratory, during which time he was a McDonnell Scholar. A Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator since 1998, Dr. Kaelin is also currently a Professor in the Department of Medicine at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and the Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School and Associate Director, Basic Science, for the Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center.

Dr. Kaelin is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine, the American Society of Clinical Investigation and the American College of Physicians. He recently served on the NCI Board of Scientific Advisors, the AACR Board of Trustees, and the Institute of Medicine National Cancer Policy Board. He is a recipient of the Paul Marks Prize for cancer research from Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center; the Rosenthal Prize from the AACR; a Doris Duke Distinguished Clinical Scientist award; the 2010 Canada International  Gairdner Award; ASCI’s Stanley J. Korsmeyer Award; the Scientific Grand Prix the Foundation Lefoulon-Delalande; the Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences, and the Steven C. Beering Award.